Help Center
Search
K
🆔

Google Permissions

This article explains what permissions are needed and why these are asked the first time you use Dokin.
At Dokin, your privacy and security is our top priority. This is why we want to provide you with clear information about the permissions required for Dokin to operated and how they are used.
Dokin use and transfer of information received from Google APIs to any other app will adhere to Google API Services User Data Policy, including the Limited Use requirements.
Below, we outline the specific permissions required, along with explanations of why they are necessary and how they are used:

🟢 Permissions requested by Dokin

Initial permissions

When you install the Service from the Google Workspace Marketplace, the following permissions are required:
  • See your primary Google Account email address, See your personal info, including any personal info you’ve made publicly available and Associate you with your personal info on Google: We require this information to create your account in our database and link it to your Google account. Please be assured that we never share this information with any third parties.
  • Display and run third-party web content in prompts and sidebars inside Google applications: This permission allows you to access the Dokin sidebar in Google Sheets, Google Docs, or Google Slides seamlessly. It ensures a smooth user experience while using our product.
  • View and manage presentations that this application has been installed in: This permission is necessary to display basic information on your presentation (ID, Title) and to insert variables within your presentation.
  • View and manage documents that this application has been installed in: This permission is necessary to display basic information on your document (ID, Title) and to insert variables within your document.
  • View and manage spreadsheets that this application has been installed in: This permission is necessary to display basic information on your document (ID, Title, Sheets), and to locate the ranges within your spreadsheet.

Additional permissions for specific actions

For certain actions within Dokin, additional permissions may be requested:
  • See, edit, create, and delete all your Google Docs documents: This permission is only requested when you connect data sources to a Google Docs document. It allows us to refresh the text in your document and update it with new values. We will never delete any of your documents.
  • See, edit, create, and delete all your Google Slides presentations: This permission is required when you connect data sources to a Google Slides presentation. It enables us to update the text in your presentation with new values. We will never delete any of your presentations.
  • See, edit, create, and delete all your Google Sheets spreadsheets: This permission is required when you connect data sources to a Google Sheets spreadsheet. It enables us to update the refresh the values imported from your data source to your spreadsheet. We will never delete any of your spreadsheet.
  • View and download all your Drive files. This permission is only requested when you connect a Google File. It allows Dokin to display all your files and folders from Google Drive. This is essential for selecting a spreadsheet, document, or presentation to connect them together. We use this permission to only retrieve basic information such as the ID, title, and mimetype. None of your files will ever be downloaded.
  • Send emails on your behalf. Dokin uses this permission to send emails on your behalf from your account, when you use the functionality “Mail Merge”. Dokin does not have access to your Gmail inbox, email messages, labels, settings, drafts, nor any other information you have in your Gmail account. Dokin does not send any email on your behalf that has not previously been defined by you.

⬆ How to review permissions

At any point in time, you can review the permissions you have granted for Dokin:
Google Microsoft Go to Google’s Sign-in & security > Apps with account access. From there, you can opt to retain or revoke the permissions: